Premier League English

Man City won 3rd successive Carabao Cup title

Despite the Premier League hiccup this season, Manchester City remain competitive as they beat Aston Villa 2-1 to win the third successive Carabao Cup at Wembley.

It’s a continuation to their historic treble of domestic trophies last season with the Premier League and FA Cup.

Man City took the lead through Sergio Aguero in 20 minutes, before Rodri doubled the lead 10 minutes later.

Villa striker Mbwana Samatta reduced the deficit in 41 minutes, but they were unable to find an equaliser until the final whistle.

This means City have won  two Premier League titles, three League Cups, an FA Cup and two Community Shields under Pep Guardiola.

“We won eight titles since we played our first final here against Arsenal (in the 2017-2018 League Cup),” Guardiola said to Reuters.

“We were in 11 competitions and we won eight. Every game we try to win and give the best we can give to our club.

“Eight out of 11 is quite remarkable.

“The most beautiful trophy is the Premier League and that is not going to happen, because we weren’t consistent enough.”