English Amerika Selatan

Australia to face Argentina in Copa America 2020

Australia will officially face Argentina at next year’s Copa America, beginning on June 12.

The Socceroos will play their five group stages matches in Argentina against the two-time World Cup champions, as well as Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia and Paraguay.

That means Australia will face Lionel Messi who had just won his sixth Ballon d’Or.

Amazingly, Australia have secured victory only once against Argentina in 1988, a famously triumphed 4-1 in Sydney, with Aussies coach Graham Arnold featuring in the line-up.

The Socceroos have lost to the Argentines on five occasions and most recently in a 2007 friendly and drawn once.

The Socceroos’ opening match will be against 15-time Copa America champions Uruguay and its star striker Luis Suarez on June 13.

Australia have won four of their nine encounters with Uruguay, but the most recent victory coming in the World Cup qualifier in Sydney in 2005, which is 14 years ago.

The Socceroos have won twice against Paraguay but have never defeated Chile and it will be the first time Australia will meet Bolivia in the tournament.

Asian Cup holder Qatar has been drawn in Group B and will face co-hosts Colombia, defending champions Brazil, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela.

Qatar have played in this year’s Copa America along with Japan but failed to get past the group stage.

No guest nation has won the Copa America, with Mexico coming closest by reaching the final in 1993 and 2001.

The top four teams from each group at the 2020 Copa America qualify for the quarter-finals.