Rodrygo was sent off when he played for Real Madrid reserve team Castilla’s 2-0 win over San Sebastian de los Reyes in Segunda Division B but he will be suspended for Sunday’s El Clasico against Barcelona.
Even the way he was sent off was bizarre. He scored a fine solo goal, but the referee shown him a second yellow card for celebrating in the goalkeeper’s face.
But why Rodrygo can’t be called for El Clasico game when he only played for Castilla, the reserve team for Real Madrid?
According to Article 56.3 of the Disciplinary Code:
“In the case of players that feature for other sides of the main team or in a team of a sponsoring club, a suspended player may not play in any of these teams or clubs, until the suspension is served in the category in which the infraction was committed.”
So, Rodrygo has to serve the suspension first before he is eligible for selection again. And of all the games, he has to serve it during El Clasico.
A blow for Zinedine Zidane, after missing Eden Hazard for the rest of the season.