Southeast Asia Malaysia

Tan Cheng Hoe announces 29-man Malaysian squad for Mongolia, Lebanon ties

Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) have announced the list of 29 players that have been handed a national call-up by head coach, Tan Cheng Hoe for their upcoming friendly match against Mongolia as well as their AFC Asian Cup qualifier against Lebanon.

For the first time since he moved to Malaysia last June, ex-Levante star, Natxo Insa has been included in the Malayan Tigers’ squad, while his brother, Kiko Insa, who currently plies his trade with Bangkok Glass in Thailand, has also been included in the list.

Besides that, JDT’s Malaysian-Barbados star, La’Vere Corbin-Ong has also been handed his first national call-up, alongside Sabah skipper Rawilson Batuil, whose performances on the pitch have been attracting plenty of attention in recent months.

As a whole, 14 players from JDT were handed a call-up, while Kedah were second-highest contributors with three players, including their prized wonderkid, Akhyar Rashid.

The centralized training camp will begin this Sunday (18th March), before they take on Mongolia at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil, next Tuesday (22nd March). After that game, the Malaysian boys are expected to leave for Beirut on the 25th of March, before they face Lebanon at the Camille Chamoun Sports City Stadium on the 27th of March.

Here’s the full list of 29 players that have been selected by Malaysia’s head coach, Tan Cheng Hoe:


  1. Hafizul Hakim (Perak)
  2. Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Kelantan)
  3. Haziq Nadzli (Johor Darul Ta’zim)


  1. Fadhli Shas (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  2. Fazly Mazlan (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  3. S. Kunanlan (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  4. Adam Nor Azlin (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  5. La’Vere Corbin-Ong (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  6. Irfan Zakaria (Kuala Lumpur)
  7. Matthew Davies (Pahang)
  8. Shahrul Saad (Perak)
  9. Kiko Insa (Bangkok Glass)
  10. Rawilson Batuil (Sabah)


  1. Safiq Rahim (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  2. Natxo Insa (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  3. Nazmi Faiz Mansor (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  4. Afiq Fazail (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  5. Akram Mahinan (Kedah)
  6. Ariff Farhan (Kedah)
  7. Syazwan Andik (Kuala Lumpur)
  8. Nor Azam Azih (Pahang)
  9. Wan Zack Haikal (Felda United)
  10. Mahali Jasuli (PKNS FC)
  11. Syahmi Safari (Selangor)


  1. Hazwan Bakri (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  2. Darren Lok (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  3. Safawi Rasid (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  4. Syafiq Ahmad (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
  5. Akhyar Rashid (Kedah)