Melbourne City claim third straight W-League title after Sydney FC win

Melbourne City claim their third straight W-League title after a 2-0 grand final win over Sydney FC on Sunday.

Jess Fishlock opened the scoring for City in the 35th minute with a perfect lob from distance over Sydney goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe.

Her 75-minute superb free-kick struck the frame of the goal before Jodie Taylor tapped in to seal the victory for City.

While City became the first team in W-League history to win three championships, Fishlock won the grand final’s most valuable player award for the second year running.

The 31-year-old has made an incredible record of winning four W-League titles, with one won while at Melbourne Victory in 2014, and now makes three championship crowns with Melbourne City.