Sydney FC claim A-League title after winning against Melbourne Victory

Sydney FC have secured the 2016-17 A-League title after defeating Melbourne Victory in a penalty shootout in the grand final on Sunday.

With scores locked at 1-1 after extra-time at Allianz Stadium, the Sky Blues prevailed to claim the club’s third championship with a 4-2 victory on penalties.

Victory were ahead at half-time after Besart Berisha rifled in a low shot to put the visitors up 1-0 in the 20th minute. But, Rhyan Grant equalised in the 69th minute for Sydney FC after a goal-mouth scramble.

Sydney FC goalkeeper Danny Vukovic saved a penalty by the Victory’s Marco Rojas, while Milos Ninkovic drilled the winning penalty for the hosts to clinch the victory.

“The penalty shootout was a blur, it went so quickly, can’t believe we’ve won it. It’s an amazing feeling,” Vukovic told Fox Sports.

The win saw Sydney FC as one of the greatest in the A-League’s fledgling history, having finished the regular season a whopping 17 points ahead of the second-placed Victory