Europe European Leagues

Neymar Jr and Kylian Mbappé in UEFA’s Top 10 Players of the Year

Paris Saint-Germain forwards Neymar Jr and Kylian Mbappé both feature in UEFA’s Top 10 Players of the Year, in fourth and seventh places respectively..

For this award, players of any nationality playing in Europe were judged on their performances throughout the season, in all competitions – national and international – for club and country.

The final list of players was decided by 80 club coaches taking part in the UEFA Champions League 2019-2020 (32) and UEFA Europa League (48), as well as 55 journalists chosen by European Sports Media from each of the UEFA member states. Each jury member could rank their top 3 with the first player receiving five points, the second three and the third one point. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players in their own teams.

The UEFA Male Player of the Year will be decided between the top three contenders, Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/GER – Germany), midfielder Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/ENG – Belgium) and forward Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/GER – Poland). The winner, along with the winner of the other awards, will be announced on Thursday 1 October in Nyon, in Switzerland.

The two Rouge et Bleu stars are in the running for the Forward of the Year award, while teammate Keylor Navas has been nominated for the Male Goalkeeper of the Year award with Christiane Endler nominated for the Female Goalkeeper of the Year award.


4. Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ESP – Argentina) and Neymar Jr ( Paris Saint-Germain/FRA – Brazil): 53 votes
6. Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich/GER – Germany): 41 votes
7. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA – France): 39 votes
8. Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich/GER – Spain): 27 votes
9. Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich/GER – Germany): 26 votes
10. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/ITA – Portugal): 25 votes


UEFA Female Player of the Year: Bronze, Harder, Renard
Male team Coach of the Year: Flick, Klopp, Nagelsmann
Women’s team Coach of the Year: Hayes, Lerch, Vasseur
Male goalkeeper of the Year: Navas, Neuer, Oblak
Female goalkeeper of the Year: Bouhaddi, Endler, Paños
Male Defender of the Year: Alaba, Davies, Kimmich
Female Defender of the Year: Bronze, Goessling, Renard
Male Midfielder of the Year: De Bruyne, Müller, Thiago Alcantara
Female Midfielder of the Year: Gunnarsdottir, Marozsan, Popp
Male Forward of the Year: Lewandowski, Mbappé, Neymar Jr
Female Forward of the Year: Cascarino, Harder, Miedema
UEFA Europa League Player of the Year: Banega, Bruno Fernandes, Lukaku

Credit: Football Tribe Malaysia