Tim Cahill included in Bert Van Marwijk’s selection for World Cup warm-ups

Australia coach Bert Van Marwijk has finalized the 26-man squad for the World Cup warm-up games against Norway and Colombia this month.

Veteran striker Tim Cahill has been included in Marwijk’s first cut, which was announced on Wednesday, despite limited game-time for England’s second tier outfit Millwall.

The trimmed squad also includes four uncapped players, including Czech Republic-based defender Aleksandar Šušnjar, Urawa Reds Diamond winger Andrew Nabbout, Newcastle Jets midfielder Dimitri Petratos and goalkeeper Daniel Vukovic.

Van Marwijk said the squad was selected after an intensive scouting period since he was named Socceroos coach for the World Cup in Russia.

“I am looking forward to the chance to get together with the players and work with them for the first time and to get to know them,” he said in a statement, as quoted by ABC.

The Socceroos will take on Norway in Oslo on 23 March, before shifting to London on the next day. On 27 March Australia will play Colombia at Craven Cottage.

Van Marwijk will coach Australia at the World Cup from mid-June. After the tournament, the Dutchman will leave his post to Graham Arnold on a permanent basis.

Australia national team squad:


Mat Ryan (Brighton and Hove Albion FC, England), Danny Vukovic (KRC Genk, Belgium), Brad Jones (Feyenoord, Holland)


Aziz Behich (Bursaspor, Turkey), Milos Degenek (Yokohama F. Marinos, Japan), Matthew Jurman (Suwon Bluewings, Korea), James Meredith (Millwall, England), Josh Risdon (Western Sydney), Trent Sainsbury (Grasshoppers Zurich, Switzerland), Aleksandar Susnjar (FK Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic), Bailey Wright (Bristol City, England)


Josh Brillante (Sydney FC), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa, England), Jackson Irvine (Hull, England), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers, England), Mark Milligan (Al Ahli, Saudi Arabia), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield, England), Tom Rogic (Celtic, Scotland), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory)


Tim Cahill (MIllwall, England), Tomi Juric (FC Luzern, Switzerland), Robbie Kruse (Bochum, Germany), Mattew Leckie (Hertha Berlin, Germany), Andrew Nabbout (Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan), Nikita Rukavytsya (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets)