Indian National Football Team Asia

Hero Intercontinental Cup 2018: Sunil Chhetri hattrick powers India to 5-0 win over Chinese Taipei

India’s talismanic skipper Sunil Chhetri once again poured his magic on the International stage with a sublime hattrick ( 14’,34’,60’) along with goals from Udanta Singh and Pronoy Halder to complete a 5-0 decimation of Chinese Taipei in the opening game of Hero Intercontinental Cup.

India started the match strong with Jeje, Udanta Singh and Sunil Chhetri weaving attacks and exchanged passes in the Taipei half to exploit spaces left by Chinese Taipei playing a very high-line in the game. India looked in complete control of the game as Anirudh Thapa and Pronoy Halder controlled the midfield with good interceptions and pressed forward while attacking. Anirudh Thapa was particularly impressive with marshalling duties in midfield the upcoming star exhibited an impressive box to box show.

The opening goal came in just 14 minutes as Sunil Chhetri finished off after holding off his marker inside the box from Jeje’s delightful well measured through ball. Chhetri doubled his tally in the 34th minute with another good combining play with Jeje exchanging quick one-two to thread the ball between keeper’s legs from a tight angle to give India a 2-0 lead.

India went into the break with a 2-0 lead but resumed their domination over Chinese Taipei within just three minutes of the start as Udanta Singh darted into the box down the right flanked tip-toed and danced around his marker and scored with a neatly placed left footed shot past his wrong-footed his marker to give India a comfortable 3-0 lead.

Sunil Chhetri completed his hattrick in the hour mark blazing the net from close range while Pronoy Halder scored a thunderous long ranger from outside the box to complete 5-0 annihilation of Chinese Taipei.

The Indian National Team will take on Kenya next in the Hero Intercontinental Cup on June 04, 2018.

India’s starting XI against Chinese Taipei: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (GK); Subhashish Bose, Sandesh Jhingan, Anas Edathodika (68’ – Salam Ranjan Singh), Pritam Kotal (82’ – Lalruatthara); Udanta Singh, Anirudh Thapa (68’ – Rowllin Borges), Pronoy Halder (80’ – Mohammad Rafique), Halicharan Narzary (50’ – Ashique Kuruniyan), Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sunil Chhetri (C) (90+2’ – Alen Deory)