Manchester City Seal Premier League Title Win

Manchester City sealed their second consecutive Premier League title on the last day of the 2018-19 Premier League season with an away win over Brighton and Hove Albion on Sunday.

The defending champions began the day in first, just a point ahead of Liverpool, who hosted Wolves. Coming off the back of an impressive 4-o victory over Barcelona to overturn a 3-0 aggregate deficit, the Reds took the lead when Sadio Mane found the back of the net after just 17 minutes.

Things got even worse for City when they went behind courtesy of a goal from Brighton forward Glenn Murray, who got the better of the visitor’s defense at the near post when he headed in from a corner.

However, going behind only served to spur on the Citizens, who then turned their possessional dominance into dominance on the scoresheet. Sergio Aguero, Aymeric Laporte, Riyad Mahrez and Ilkay Gundogan all proceeded to score past Australian goalkeeper Matt Ryan in the Brighton net to run up a 4-1 scoreline.

This victory saw Manchester City crowned champions on 98 points, falling just two points short of the record 100 points they collected in their title-winning campaign last season. Liverpool finished second with 97 points, the highest ever total of a Premier League runner-up, even beating the previous record for a champions’ points tally set by Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea in 2004-05.