Southeast Asia Malaysia

Kedah Win Unity Shield 2019

Aiman Nazirmuddin

Football Tribe Malaysia


Kedah’s dream of winning the Unity Shield 2019 championship came true as they defeated Perak 2-0 at Stadium Darul Aman in Alor Setar last night.

In a match attended by more than 25,000 supporters, Kedah’s defense was first tested by Perak import Leandro Dos Santos’s in the 7th minute, and goalkeeper Ifwat Akmal Chek Kassim had to pull out a save to deny the Malaysia Cup champions in the 14th minute.

Kedah, who were awakened by the attacks on their goal came back and almost scored one of their own through striker Jonatan Bauman, who came close to giving his side the lead in the 16th and 33rd minutes respectively.

Kedah’s goal eventually came in 67th minute, courtesy of Fernando Rodriquez, who put away a free kick won by Bauman. Their lead was soon doubled by substitute Syahrul Azwari Ibrahim, who scored soon after coming on in the 73rd minute. Perak attempted to find a goal of their own, but neither Shahrul Saad or  Gilmar Da Silva were able to convert their chances.

Ultimately, Red Eagles held on for a memorable 2-0 victory. The prize giving ceremony was officiated by Kedah Football Association President, Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir.