Southeast Asia Indonesia

Indonesia Liga 1 – Best XI 2018

With the Indonesian Liga 1 finally drawing to a belated close, it is time for us to reflect on the players who made the biggest impact this campaign. Join Football Tribe Indonesia’s Steven Danis as he walks us through the Best XI from the 2018 Liga 1 season.


Name: Teja Paku Alam

Age: 24

Nationality: Indonesia

Club: Sriwijaya FC

Even though Sriwijaya FC were relegated this season, Teja's performances stood out. He became the most busiest keeper in Liga 1, as he made an impressive 85 saves, the highest in the division.


Right Back

Name: Ismed Sofyan

Age: 39

Nationality: Indonesia

Club: Persija Jakarta

One of the oldest players in the division, Ismed put in a number of consistent performances this season. The captain of Persija Jakarta was successful in bringing the trophy back to the capital after 17 years. In fact, this is his first league title with Persija after joining with them back in 2003.

Center Back

Name: Steven Paulle

Age: 32

Nationality: France

Club: PSM Makassar

His vast experience in French Ligue 1 and Ligue 2 made Steven one of the marquee players in Indonesia, and had a huge impact on PSM's defensive line. He become a leader amongst the others and have no doubt to play rough until the game ended.

Center Back

Name: Arif Satriya

Age: 23

Nationality: Indonesia

Club: Persela Lamongan

He has really good qualities, but is often an underrated defender. He become the first player to complete more than 100 clearances and interceptions in 2018 Liga 1. In total, he made 131 clearances, 104 interceptions and 74 tackles this season.

Left Back

Name: Ardi Idrus

Age: 25

Nationality: Indonesia

Club: Persib Bandung

Ardi Idrus had a phenomenal breakout season. Nobody know him before this season, even though he was already 25 years old. However, he became the first choice of Maung Bandung's coach, Mario Gomez, on the left flank. With total 78 tackles, he was one of the most active defenders in the division.

Right Midfielder

Name: Osvaldo Haay

Age: 20

Nationality: Indonesia

Club: Persebaya Surabaya

Osvaldo is the 2018 Liga 1 Best Young Player. The 20 years old Papuan winger is a genius, with pace and acceleration, as well as a good goal sense in front of the penalty box. He found the net 10 times this campaign.

Center Midfielder

Name: Rohit Chand

Age: 26

Nationality: Nepal

Club: Persija Jakarta

Rohit earn the golden ball as the 2018 Liga 1 Best Player. He mainly operates as a central midfielder, but he is also capable of playing as a center back and right back with Macan Kemayoran this season. And he absolutely shows all his abilities in those three different position.

Center Midfielder

Name: Willem Jan Pluim

Age: 29

Nationality: Netherlands

Club: PSM Makassar

The Dutchman was a lethal weapon for PSM Makassar since last season. With good ball control, he is a great free-kick taker who won the hearts of Indonesian football fans with his hard work on the field.

Left Midfielder

Name: Rizky Pora

Age: 29

Nationality: Indonesia

Club: Barito Putera

Rizky become the player with most assist in Liga 1 this season. He helped Barito Putera earn 16 crucial points with his 11 assists during the league campaign. He also a skillfull and versatile player on the left flank, as he is a great midfielder who is good as a defender as well.


Name: Aleksandar Rakic

Age: 31

Nationality: Serbia


Rakic earn the golden boot as the 2018 Liga 1 Top Scorer, as his 21 goals made him PS TIRA's saviour in the relegation battle. He mostly scored from open play, but he also dangerous when executing free-kick and converting set-piece chances into goals.


Name: Samsul Arif

Age: 33

Nationality: Indonesia

Club: Barito Putera

Having scored 14 goals this year, Samsul became the top scorer amongst the local players for two year in a row. Last year with Persela Lamongan, he also become the local top scorer with 17 goals.

Honorable Mentions

Wawan Hendrawan - Bali United

Fabiano Beltrame - Madura United

Rezaldi Hehanussa - Persija Jakarta

Makan Konate - Arema FC

Matias Cordoba - Barito Putera

Gozali Siregar - Persib Bandung

David da Silva - Persebaya Surabaya