Australia name 30-man squad for crucial World Cup qualifiers

Head coach Ange Postecoglou has named 30-man squad for the Australia national team in the last crucial two World Cup qualifiers against Japan and Thailand.

Most notably, captain Mile Jedinak has earned a recall to the provisional squad despite being ruled out of the Socceroos’ Confederations Cup campaign in June after undergoing surgery on his groin. He has been currently reported nearing a return to full fitness.

Meanwhile, marquee players Mustafa Amini, Riley McGree, Awer Mabil and Adam Federici have been called up to the provisional squad, which will be trimmed down to 23 players on 23 August.

Australia currently sits third in its World Cup qualifying group. The Socceroos need at least four points from the two games to book a spot at next year’s World Cup in Russia without having to rely on other results.

Full Australia national team squad for World Cup qualifiers:

Goalkeeper (4): Mathew Ryan, Mitchell Langerak, Danny Vukovic, Adam Federici

Defender (9): Milos Degenek, Alex Gersbach, Brad Smith, Aziz Behich, Bailey Wright, Ryan McGowan, Trent Sainsbury, Matt Jurman, Matthew Spiranovic

Midfielder (13): Mark Milligan, Mile Jedinak, Aaron Mooy, James Troisi, James Jeggo, Ajdin Hrustic, Massimo Luongo, Jackson Irvine, Tom Rogic, Robbie Kruse, Mathew Leckie, Riley McGree, Mustafa Amini

Forward (4): Tim Cahill, Tomi Juric, Jamie Maclaren, Awer Mabil