Hosts South Korea to face Argentina and England in 2017 U-20 World Cup

The official draw for the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2017 has taken place just hours ago at the Suwon Atrium, mapping out the group-stage challenge for each of the 24 teams involved.

The pairings were drawn by some famous personalities including two Argentina legends, Diego Maradona, winner of the 1979 FIFA U-20 World Cup, and Pablo Aimar, who won the 1997 edition.

Hosts Korea Republic will take on Guinea in the opening match on 20 May, with Group A also including England and Argentina in what turned out to be a mouth-watering.

1999 runners-up Japan will compete for a spot in the knockout stage against South Africa, Italy and South American champion Uruguay in Group D.

Iran are handed a difficult group with U-20 Africa Cup of Nations title-holders Zambia, as well as two-time winners Portugal and Central American side Costa Rica.

Vietnam will kick off their debut 11-a-side appearance at a FIFA competition against Oceania’s top side New Zealand. The other two teams in Group E are France and Honduras.

Meanwhile, AFC U-19 Championship runners-up Saudi Arabia are in Group F alongside CONCACAF U-20 Champion USA, Ecuador, and Senegal.

The 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup will take place in six different cities in South Korea between 20 May and 11 June 2017.