Southeast Asia Indonesia

Arema FC win 2017 President’s Cup

Cristian Gonzales’ hat trick saw Arema FC claim the 2017 President’s Cup trophy after bombarding Pusamania Borneo 5-1 in the final round on Sunday.

Arema immediately took control of the first half, showing some teeth when Hanif Sjahbandi hit Pusamania’s Wawan Hendrawan’s net in the 30th minute at the Pakansari Stadium in Cibinong, Bogor, West Java.

The Singo Edan (Mad Lion) then benefitted from an own-goal by Pusamania’s Michael Orah in the 37th minute.

Not even slowing down, Malang-based Arema went goal-frenzy as top scorer Cristian Gonzales in the 42nd minute secured a solid 3-0 lead in the first half.

The party was not over in the second half, as Cristian turned into an unstoppable net-breaker with two more goals in the 53rd and 64th.

Pusamania tried to catch up through Firli Apriansyah’s header at the 69th, but it finally ended with a 5-1 victory for Arema.