Southeast Asia Rest of SEA

Jarvey Gayoso Bag Four as Kaya Crush DB Garelli

Kaya FC-Iloilo star Jarvey Gayoso was the standout performer as his four goals helped the defending Philippines Football League champions to an emphatic 12-0 win over DB Garelli United in Saturday’s league action at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Gayoso expressed his contentment with the performance after the Philippines national team mainstay netted goals in the eighth, 67th, 86th, and 90+2 minutes, propelling the Iloilo City-based team to secure the top spot with six points and a remarkable +14 goal difference.

“I’m very satisfied,” Gayoso remarked, as quoted from Panaynews. “I understand you have appointed one (Man of the Match) but the scoreline reflects the overall performance and effort of the team. They all deserve to be acknowledged.”

Also contributing significantly to the scoreline were, Kaishu Yamazaki, Shuto Komaki, Jesus Melliza, and Robert Lopez Mendy each scored twice for Kaya, matching the second-highest scoring margin in PFL history.

Kaya  swiftly surged to a commanding 3-0 lead in the match, courtesy of goals from Yamazaki, Komaki, and Gayoso. The lead expanded to 6-0 by halftime, with consecutive strikes from Yamazaki, Komaki, and Melliza.

The scoring onslaught persisted in the second half, as Lopez Mendy, Gayoso, and Melliza each found the net in the 68th minute, before Kaya concluded the rout with another goal from Lopez Mendy and back-to-back scores from Gayoso.

Last weekend’s PFL action saw plenty of huge scorelines being thrown out, with debutants One Taguig FC crushing Philippines Air Force FC 8-0, Stallion Laguna beating Loyola FC 5-0, and a youthful Tuloy FC smashing five unanswered goals past fellow debutants Manila Montet.