Southeast Asia Malaysia

No Liga Super for Perlis United

The Malaysian Football League (MFL) have confirmed on Wednesday that the upcoming 2024/25 season will be contested by 13 teams only, as Liga M3 side Perlis United failed to attain the license necessary for them to compete in the top-flight.

Following Kelantan FC’s expulsion from the Liga Super, the MFL has been calling for interested Liga M3 sides to apply for a license that would see them replace the Red Warriors in the top-flight. Four Liga M3 sides have heeded to this call, being last season’s champions Immigration FC, last season’s runners-up Kuala Lumpur Rovers, last season’s bronze medalists Harini FT, and Perlis United, who finished 8th in the 2023 campaign.

Out of the four, the MFL has decided to put Perlis United’s application into consideration, due to their better documentation and a fresh financial injection of 5 million Ringgit from one of their sponsors – as well as the full support of their local government.

However, after further screening, it was discovered that Perlis United had failed to fulfil three out of four critical criteria and deadlines being set to them in order for them to secure a Liga Super license.

These criteria include evidence of funds received in the Perlis United account amounting to 5 million Ringgit as in checks presented before 9 March 2024, a declaration signed by officials and players that there are no outstanding debts on 31 December 2023 before 13 March 2024, a proof of the stamped sponsorship agreement between Perlis United and each of their four potential sponsors to be submitted by March 15, 2024, and the first sponsorship fund payment received by Perlis United from the sponsors based on sponsorship payment terms before March 22, 2024.

Although the application deadline has not yet elapsed, Perlis United have failed to submit any documentation for three out of the four aforementioned criteria, forcing the MFL to reject their application – clearly not wanting a repeat of the Kelantan debacle to happen next season.

Perlis United’s rejection meant that only 13 teams will contest the 2024/25 Liga Super season.

Also on Wednesday, the MFL have confirmed that both Kedah Darul Aman and Kuala Lumpur City FC will potentially face a three point deduction should they fail to pay their outstanding wages towards players and staff members by March 30th.