Southeast Asia Rest of SEA

Old and New Faces to Clash in the New Philippines Football League Season

The 2024 Philippines Football League promises to be bigger than ever as a record 15 teams have signed up to compete in the nation’s top-flight. Defending league winners Kaya FC-Iloilo will have their title defense worked up for them as they face stiff competition from familiar faces, returning foes, and newcomers alike.

Other than Kaya, the rest of the cast from the 2023 season have confirmed their participation in the upcoming 2024 campaign – last year’s runners-up Dynamic Herb Cebu, Stallion Laguna, Mendiola FC 1991, and Maharlika Manila, who have rebranded themselves as Maharlika Taguig following their relocation to the city within the Metro Manila region.

Former league participants Loyola FC, Davao Aguilas, and Philippine Air Force FC, who pulled out in 2018, 2019, and 2020 respectively, have confirmed their return to the league, with Loyola last appearing in the top-flight as Meralco Manila. Also making their return are record 4-time champions United City FC, who withdrew mid-way through the 2022/23 campaign due to financial and legal issues regarding their investors.

They will be joined by Philippine Army FC, who last played in the top-flight back in 2015, and league debutants Don Bosco Garelli, Manila Digger, Manila Montet, Tuloy FC, and City of Taguig FC.

With the exception of United City, Manila Montet, and Taguig, the 12 teams were part of the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara, which successfully garnered significant interest towards football within the Philippines. The cup competition was won by Kaya, who beat surprise finalists Davao on penalties.

The 2024 Philippine Football League season will kick-off on March 9th, with the champions accompanying Kaya to the 2024/25 AFC Champions League 2.