European Leagues

Europa League Semi-Final Lineup Confirmed

The four semi-finalists for the 2019-20 UEFA Europa League have been confirmed, after a tense quarter-final round on Tuesday and Wednesday. 

The 2019-20 UEFA Europa League, currently being held as a series of one-leg matches in Germany, played out its quarter-final stage on Tuesday and Wednesday earlier this week.

Inter Milan booked their place in the semi-finals in a tough match against Bayer Leverkusen. Nicolo Barella gave the Italian side an early lead with a deft finish from the edge of the box, before striker Romelu Lukaku added a second six minutes later.

A goal from Leverkusen’s Kai Havertz was unable to spark a revival for the German side, who saw themselves eliminated with a 2-1 scoreline.

Meanwhile, Manchester United needed until extra time to get past Danish side Copenhagen, but a penalty from Portuguese star Bruno Fernandes ensured the Red Devils progressed.

Shakhtar Donetsk put Swiss side Basel to the sword the following day in Gelsenkirchen. First-half goals from Junior Moraes and Taison gave the side an impressive lead before Alan Patrick and Dodo wrapped up the result in the second period. Dutch striker Van Wolfswinkel scored a consolation goal for Basel in their 4-1 defeat.

Lastly, Wolverhampton Wanderers’ exciting European run came to an end after a late goal by Sevilla’s Lucas Ocampos.

The competition resumes on Monday, August 17th, when Manchester United take on Sevilla in Cologne and Inter Milan face Shakhtar in Dusseldorf.