World Cup Qualifying East Asia

Paulo Bento names 23 players to face Lebanon and the 2019 Copa America Champion, Brazil

Written by Youngsub Lee

Football Tribe Korea

Korea National Team Coach Paulo Bento named his 23-strong squad for the fourth Group H match of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ against Lebanon and an international ‘A’ friendly against the 2019 Copa America champion, Brazil.

Three players, namely Paik Seung-ho (SV Darmstadt 98), Lee Dong-gyeong (Ulsan Hyundai FC) and Lee Jae-ik (Al-Rayyan) were dropped from the last month’s 25-man squad, who were called up to face Sri Lanka at home and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea at Pyongyang.

Bento spoke to the media during the press conference: “All three players were dropped for tactical reasons.

“It is true that the team’s frameworks are in place. However, on the course of progress till 2022, there can still be many changes to the squad.”

In the meantime, FC Seoul midfielder, Ju Se-jong has been listed on the 23-man squad since his last appearance against Iran this June.

The Taegeuk Warriors depart Incheon in the midnight on 11 November (Korea time) to Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Currently, Republic of Korea ranks first in Group H with two wins and a draw.


Korea Men’s National Team Squad for November 2019


GK: Kim Seung-gyu (Ulsan Hyundai FC), Jo Hyeon-woo (Daegu FC), Gu Sung-yun (Hokkaido Consadole Sapporo)


DF: Kim Young-gwon (Gamba Osaka), Kim Min-jae (Beijing Sinobo Guoan F.C.), Park Ji-soo (Guangzhou Evergrande Taobao F.C.), Kwon Kyung-won (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors FC), Hong Chul (Suwon Samsung Bluewings), Kim Jin-su (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors FC), Lee Yong (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors FC), Kim Moon-hwan(Busan IPark)


MF: Jung Woo-young (Al Sadd SC), Hwang In-beom (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Ju Se-jong (FC Seoul), Lee Kang-in (Valencia CF), Kwon Chang-hoon (SC Freiburg), Lee Jae-sung (Holstein Kiel), Nam Tae-hee (Al Sadd SC), Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur F.C.), Hwang Hee-chan (FC Red Bull Salzburg), Na Sang-ho (FC Tokyo)


FW: Kim Shin-wook (Shanghai Greenland Shenhua F.C.), Hwang Ui-jo (FC Girondins de Bordeaux)