Southeast Asia Rest of SEA

Seven Nations will participate in Hassanal Bolkiah Cup 2018

Even though Brunei is one of the small teams in South East Asia, they still have a concern about their youth players. One of their ways to train their youth player is to hold a tournament between nations, which is called Hassanal Bolkiah Cup. The tournament, that is for players U-21,  is formed from a collaboration between Brunei FA and AFF.

The last time they hold this tournament was four years ago and they will hold it again on April 23 until May 5. There will be two stadiums that are used for the tournament. They are Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium and Bandar Seri Begawan Sports Complex Stadium. Cited from, there will be seven nations that are invited to the tournament. There are Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, and then Brunei as the host.

They will be divided into two groups. Brunei, Myanmar, Thailand, and Timor-Leste will be in Group A. Meanwhile, Cambodia, Laos, and Singapore will be in Group B. Each of them will meet once and the best two from each group will go to the semifinal.

The winner of Hassanal Bolkiah Cup will get $ 15,000, the runner-up will get $ 7,000, and the two teams that lose in the semifinal will get $ 3,000 each.