Rest of Asia

Arambagh Krira Sangha beat Chittagong Abahoni to win 2018 WALTON Independence Cup

By Rajarshi Chakrabarty

Arambag Krira Sangha lifted their first trophy to win the WALTON Independence Cup 2018 beating favourites Chittagong Abahani 2-0 at the Bangabandhu Stadium on Saturday (10th February 2018).

Arambagh Krira Sangha was dominant throughout the game and opened the scoring on the 20th minute through Md.Arif’s headed from the cross of Shahriar Bappy to give the Dhaka side the much-needed lead in the final.

Just before the halftime Arambag right back Rocky pushed forward through a brilliant run, surging through the Abahani defence and scored from a close-range angular shot from the right wing off a Mohammad Jewel pass.

Arambag maintained possession and held onto the lead as Abahoni failed to score any goal in the second half to lift their maiden trophy in sixty years of history.The Dhaka side finished on the eighth position in the league this season maintained an unbeaten run in the tournament.

Arambagh’s Md Jewel scored three goals in the tournament to win the highest scorer award while Md.Arif won Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament award for his outstanding contribution to Arambag’s title-winning effort.