Chanathip joins Thailand national team in traning as 23-man squad announced

Chanathip Songkrasin has returned from Japan to join the Thailand national team’s training camp for their last two 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

This will be the first time for Chanathip to don the national colours under Serbian coach Milovan Rajevac. He could not join the squad for the qualifiers against UAE in June due to injuries.

“I was given a warm welcome. Most of the players are the same and it feels good to be back in the national team,” the Consadole Sapporo midfielder told Bangkok Post reporters.

“It was only my first training session with the team, and I felt like a freshie.

“I am also keen to learn from the new coach. I have watched the Thai national team’s recent matches and I think they played very well in every position.

“I cheered them on when I was in Japan, especially during the King’s Cup tournament [last month]. They did well to win the title.

“I hope that Thai football fans will come and support us, acting as the 12th player of our team. For me, I am hungry to help the team again.”

On the other hand, coach Rajevac has announced the official 23-man squad for the qualifiers.

The War Elephants are scheduled to take on Iraq on Thursday at Rajamangala National Stadium before traveling to Melbourne to face Australia on 5 September.

Despite being out of contention, the Rajevac’s side are eager to earn points from their last qualifiers to satisfy their home supporters.

Thailand’s 23-man squad to face Iraq and Australia:

Goalkeepers (3): Kampon Phatom-akkakul (BEC Tero Sasana), Siwarak Tedsungnoen (Buriram United), Sinthaweechai Hathairattanakool (Suphanburi FC)

Defenders (8): Tristan Do (SCG Muangthong United), Adisorn Promrak (SCG Muangthong United), Peerapat Notchaiya (SCG Muangthong United), Theerathon Bunmathan (SCG Muangthong United), Putthinan Wannasri (Bangkok United), Manuel Tom Bihr (Bangkok United), Chalermpong Kerdkaew (Nakhonratchasima Mazda FC), Pansa Hemviboon (Buriram United)

Midfielders (9): Pokklaw Anan (Bangkok United), Sanrawat Dechmitr (Bangkok United), Thitipan Puangchan (Chiangrai United), Supachok Sarachat (Buriram United), Bodin Phala (Buriram United), Nurul Sriyankem (Chonburi FC), Mongkol Tossakrai (Pattaya United), Wattana Playnum (SCG Muangthong United), Chanathip Songkrasin (Hokkaido Consadole Sapporo)

Strikers (3): Teerasil Dangda (SCG Muangthong United), Siroch Chatthong (SCG Muangthong United), Adisak Kraisorn (SCG Muangthong United)