Sydney FC’s Adrian Mierzejewski wins A-League’s top individual honor

Sydney FC’s Adrian Mierzejewski has won the prestigious Johnny Warren Medal at Australian football award ceremony on Monday night.

The Polish midfielder clinches the A-League’s top individual honor in his first season in Australia. He received 37 points from a panel that included former professional players, technical experts, match officials and media representatives.

Mierzejewski is followed by Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets), Leroy George (Melbourne Victory), Bobo (Sydney FC) and Isaias (Adelaide United).

“It’s a nice feeling of course,” Mierzejewski said, as quoted by ABC.

“But for me the football awards are just something extra. The most important is the team … it’s for Sydney FC and not for me.”

Meanwhile, Golden Boot winner Sam Kerr shared the Julie Dolan Medal with national women team captain Clare Polkinghorne after both received 17 votes.

Melbourne City wonder-teen Daniel Arzani won the young player of the year.