Southeast Asia

2017 Toyota Mekong Club Championship to take place in December

The fourth edition of Toyota Mekong Club Championship will be set to take place from December 9 to January 6.

The Mekong Club Championship, which was firstly launched in 2014, is a football competition for Southeast Asia’s Mekong region clubs. Five teams enter as respective domestic league winners from Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar Thailand and Vietnam.

This year, the champions of Myanmar National League will be absent from the tournament.

The first round will take place over two legs on December 9 and 13 between the league champions of Vietnam and Cambodia.

The winner of that tie will then face the winners of the Lao Premier League in Laos on December 17.

The two-legged final on December 23 and January 6 will then see whichever teams reaches that far come up against Thailand’s League Cup champions.

Last year, Buriram United of Thai League 1 beat Laos champions Lanexang United 2-0 to claim the Toyota Mekong Club Championship 2-1 on aggregate.