Southeast Asia Rest of SEA

Philippines announce squad to face China and Tajikistan

The Philippine Football Federation (PFF) has released the 23-man roster for the Azkals’ upcoming matches against China and Tajikistan in June.

Phil and James Younghusband lead the list of locally based players, while Javier Patiño and Daisuke Sato are the overseas-based call-ups.

A notable omission in the list is England-based goalkeeper Neil Etheridge.

Head coach Thomas Dooley confirmed to CNN Philippines that Patrick Deyto will man the goalposts in Etheridge’s absence.

The Philippines will first face China in an international friendly on 7 June in Guangzhou, China, before challenging Tajikistan in the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 Qualifiers on 13 June.

Philippines’ 23-man squad

Goalkeeper: Nicholas O’Donnell (Global Cebu), Patrick Deyto (Global Cebu), Nathanael Villanueva (Meralco Manila)

Defenders: Jim Munoz (Ceres Negros), Daisuke Sato (Iasi), Amani Aguinaldo (Global Cebu), Jeffrey Christiaens (Ceres Negros), Kenshiro Daniels (Kaya FC-Makati), Camelo Tacusalme (JPV Marikina)

Midfielders: Luke Woodland (Ceres Negros), Iain Ramsay (Ceres Negros), Dennis Villanueva (Global Cebu), Fitch Arboleda (Stallion Laguna), Hikaru Minegishi (Global Cebu), Antonio Ugarte (Kaya FC-Makati), James Younghusband (Meralco Manila), Kevin Ingreso (Ceres Negros), Manuel Ott (Ceres Negros), Dominic Liam Del Rosario (Ilocos United)

Forwards: Misagh Bahadoran (Global Cebu), Philip Younghusband (Meralco Manila), Mike Ott (Angthong United), Javier Patiño (Henan Jianye)